The human feminist – a field beyond feminism

Feminism isn’t about hating men any more than enjoying the music of the Beatles is anti-Beegees. As Caitlin Moran said, not all feminists want to burn penises. I’m actually quite against it, myself.

caitlin moran feminism

“When women talk about “The Man”, we’re not talking about you. You’re just a man. You’re not The Man.”

Caitlin Moran. Source: interview magazine

 

In a recent conversation with a few friends I got told there were some people who might expect an angry woman or get scared at the idea of me, if I were to call myself a feminist. Maybe it was a good idea for me to stop using that word, they said.

Thing is, I just want to be able to say what I believe without being put in a box. I am just me. Just little old me, typing at my computer. So when you hear the label ‘feminist’, please don’t jump to the conclusion that I burn bras or begin an ‘all people like you…’ list.

The label only serves for me to express my beliefs. That’s all.

feminist-quote-29-picture-quotes-aziz-ansariAziz Ansari. Source: Pinterest

I am a white, female, feminist, pacifist, humanitarian, egalitarian, humorous Brit. But none of those things make me who I really am. To say you know who I am because of my job description would be just as dehumanising. It is my decision what I call myself, how I express myself. I believe in equality. And peace. And to deny that would be unnatural.

Perhaps one day I will become ‘the writer formerly known as hairy’. But in the meantime…

mlk

“I look to a day when people will not be judged by the colour of their skin, but by the content of their character.” Martin Luther King Jr. Source: seattle times

I like the idea that we can be judged on the content of our character, instead of what is seen on the surface. I’m not just a feminist. I’m so much more than my labels. And so are you.

And right now the world seems so separated by these names, these ideas, of what one person believes, or not.

So, let’s try and see behind the labels.

Break down the enemy images.

And remember we’re just all human beings.

rumi-quote-about-love-and-the-picture-of-amazing-field-rumi-quotes-about-true-love-930x617Rumi. Source: mactoons

What do you think? Ever been labelled and want to break free from the stereotypical chains?

Let me know in the comments, and as always, thank you in advance for any little gifts you might want to give 🙂

Buy Now Button

6 thoughts on “The human feminist – a field beyond feminism

  1. Absolutely! We have a new one now. If you are against the EU (as it currently is) you are xenophobic, anti immigration, etc, etc. Bullshit! I am just against this bureaucratic, money-wasting club of self-serving walleys. I have ‘battled’ in my small way against discrimination of all kinds, including race and gender, most of my life; I am married to an immigrant – go back a way and I’m descended from immigrants (most of us are). But it doesn’t help when candidates standing for MP as members of the Women’s Equality Party in the forthcoming election muddy the water by dragging us would-be supporters into the ‘remain in the EU’ camp (I refuse to use the stupid ‘B……’ word). Neverthless, I will be voting WEP.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always loved Aziz Ansari’s quote about feminism, it’s so spot on and holds people accountable for their hypocrisy. People chickening out from using the term – even though they believe in the definition – remind me of how Sheryl Sandberg did that ridiculous “ban bossy” campaign, saying that the word shouldn’t ever be used – rather than focusing on the real issue that is the double standard used on women in the workplace.

    We’ve all been categorized, and I think that’s why I like blogging because people get to know many sides of me and realize I can’t be categorized. I remember a former roommate introduced me to someone as a “greenie” because I live sustainably, and it was in a way that made me seem like some kind of freakshow, like it was SO strange that I had a garden and recycled and such – and it reminded me of how the term feminist is used as a derogatory term even though it makes no sense because most people, if you ask them if they believe in the definition, will agree.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah, I get why people don’t want to use the term, there’s so much confusion over it, and a strange sense of fear. And yet, I always want the right to express my beliefs. So I’m ok with it. Maybe the fear of the word is just being ‘different’. If we’re on the same side, even without the word, that is encouraging. But you know, the choice to use it, without worrying about offending anyone, that’d be nice, too.

      Like

      1. It probably comes with many of us as females being raised early on to not make waves, you know? I know when I was growing up girls were not supposed to be too loud or outspoken because otherwise it would be unseemly…ultimately implying that we would never find a man if we asked for what was rightfully ours or simply showed that we had a mind of our own and aren’t afraid to have our own opinions about things. And I’m only 43! All the different ways girls are shut down at such a young age and how the quiet and demure are often rewarded… Kind of reminds me of the poem by Emily Dickinson “Much Madness is Divinest Sense”.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I love that, thanks for sharing. That’s definitely the way feminists have been portrayed?! I decided being quiet was best as a child – easier than anything else. I can’t put my finger on a moment where girls were told to be quiet outright, and yet I know that this kind of behaviour was expected more of girls somehow. Then it becomes a process of unravelling the idea of being able to say what you think freely.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

