Falling in love with … me

falling-in-love-with-me-loving-thoughtsLoving thoughts. Source: positively present

So I recently listened to a morning meditation by Louise Hay on self-love.

This TED talk suggests falling in love with you first, before anyone else. And I always liked the idea, but I had no idea… how?

In her meditation Hay suggests doing mirror work, like a lot of the self-help gurus out there. But unlike most she suggests telling yourself you love yourself EVERY time you look in the mirror.

I mostly was pretty skeptical that this could have any effect at all. I’ve tried it a bit before. And noticed small changes. But not much. But trust me – from one self-help junkie to another – it works.

im-falling-in-love-with-me-rolfe-art-mirror-workMirror work. Source: Rolfe Art

My Mirror Work Experience – Two Weeks of Self-loving 😉

At first, it felt weird. I have told myself I love myself in the mirror before, and I’ve had a sign of unconditional love on it for a few years now, too. And I did feel some small positive effects. But this time was different. This was EVERY time I saw myself in the mirror, I was to say ‘I love you, I really love you.’

And at first it seemed a bit pointless, until the first smile of recognition. The time when,  I heard it and felt it on a core level. Something shifted, and it felt good.

I held myself differently when talking to my family and friends. I felt more confident  because it was reassuring: I could say the stupidest of things, and I still had my back.  I knew that if someone didn’t like what I did or said, I still liked it, and still liked me. In theory, I always had my back, always loved myself, but this was one of the first times I actually felt it deep down.

I began feeling more free to be myself.

So I carried on. Each day I heard all of the insults my mind so kindly brings up, and then told myself I loved myself anyway. I saw myself in the middle of the night looking tired and dopey (when no one should see me!) and I told myself I loved myself. When I felt upset and broken and beaten, I told myself.

im-falling-in-love-with-myself-yoga-beachHeart chakra yogi. Source: elephant journal

The Results…

Little things have changed over the past few weeks of this practice.

Normally, when on my own as much as I have been recently, I would crave a relationship, I would crave… something, I would feel incomplete. But since the mirror work, my own self-love has been enough for me (naughty!) The cravings are still there, but diminished from huge forest fire, to happy campsite fire.

And I take care of myself just a little more than before, I enjoy putting some Manuka honey oil on my face at night. If there’s a problem or something I’m upset about, I’m not so quick to judge, I’m a little more likely to listen to what’s going on for me, to hear the problem.

I smile more. I like to look at myself in the mirror. I tell myself I’m pretty on my off days.

How crazy is this – I sing songs to myself now! And it makes me smile when I fell like sh*t!

Oh, and when I am craving, I work out what would make me feel better.

Little shifts. It’s quite fun that way.

falling-in-love-with-me-heart

I just wanted to share this, because it might help someone else out there who is lonely, or feeling like something is just… missing in their lives. If you do fancy trying out this practice, I say, go for it! It’s free and imo, fun.

If you like small challenges that might change your life in a positive way, give it a shot, and who knows, you might just end up falling in love with… yourself.

Sending love my lovelies!xx

 

“Oh feeling blind, I realise, all I was searching for was me.”

Ben Howard

If you enjoyed this article and would like to give me a gift, thank you in advance x

Buy Now Button

2 thoughts on “Falling in love with … me

Leave a Reply

